I think I’m the evil dance mom

Oh boy. I think I’m becoming one of those evil dance moms that you see on the Lifetime show. I can’t help it. I’m protecting my son and his dance career. Little bit of background: My son is on a hip hop line with one other boy and a girl. They’ve done very well this year considering that the other two members are rookies, and this is the first year my son has competed in hip hop. I do not like this other boy. My son and he have been in a couple regular hip hop classes together and this boy is a handful. And that’s being nice. He is rude to adults, doesn’t listen, and for the past month, he has not attended technique. Hasn’t even made up the technique classes by going to another technique class. During technique for the past month, the students have been learning the finale part for the recital this weekend. So because this boy hasn’t been to technique to learn the part, they had to take last Thursday, the last class of the year, the last class with the teacher, to learn the finale part, instead of working on their routine. And then he wasn’t at the studio-wide rehearsal for finale.  Unacceptable in my eyes, but it gets better. After this weekend, each class is scheduled 3 sessions in the next week and a half to practice their routine for Nationals. This kid is going to miss 2 of those classes because he has baseball. I’m sorry. I think the coach will understand that you have a previous commitment for a month and will excuse you. And if not, then you need to make a choice on if you are going to play baseball or dance. My son has worked his butt off this year, taking extra technique classes, attending every class. If you can’t devote the time to dance the entire year, you shouldn’t be competing. I am going to be speaking to the studio director about this because it is unacceptable. I do not want him on my son’s line next year. We work too hard and sacrifice too much for it to be ruined by one kid. :soapbox

Okay, better now. 🙂

I know this is late, and the finale was a couple weeks ago, but I figure I can talk about it now and there will be no spoilers. Did anyone else cry during Glee’s finale? I got a little misty. Rachel’s send off to New York was wonderful. So very sad, but very romantic. And Finn is giving up his dream of being an actor to join the Army.  Congrats to him. I wonder how the format is going to work next year. Two shows?

Watched So You Think You Can Dance last night with my boy. I love watching these shows because they have good stories. My heart broke when that one girl said her mom kicked her out and she was now living with her best friend’s family. Loved the surfing tap dancer. He just rocked it.

We have a new member to the Dance Parents Team family. Her name is Kristy and she is the owner of a shop called SparkleMeDancing. http://www.etsy.com/shop/SparkleMeDancing She says that her daughter is a dancer and some of her favorite materials are rhinestones and sequins. I need to introduce her to Tammy, I think.

Another shop I would love to feature is DomesticDivaDesignz. http://www.etsy.com/shop/DomesticDivaDesignz. Christine makes these gorgeous diaper cakes.

Diaper Cake - Black, Pink & White Damask Elegance Baby Shower Diaper Cake Centerpiece  - 3 Tier

Next item is a print from Nikkey Studio in Greece entitled Space Witch. http://www.etsy.com/listing/98162014/space-witch-646×326-cm-254×128-inches

Space Witch 64,6x32,6 cm (25.4x12.8 Inches)

That’s all I have time for today, folks. Have a great Thursday and tomorrow is Friday!!! And the start to one of my most stressful weekends this summer.

Always,

Hoping for sales

Leave a Reply

