Pay It Forward and Friend Friday

Today, I would like to give a shout-out to several people who have helped me and supported me as I try this new venture with the Flip-Furs. Without them, I wouldn’t have the confidence to keep plugging away at this – the blog, the inventory, FaceBook, Twitter.

First, I’d like to give a shout-out to Irene, who was my first (and second) sale on Etsy. She has a little shop on Etsy of charm bracelets and necklaces. http://www.etsy.com/shop/Irene69  Thank you so much, Irene.

Next, I’d like to give a shout-out to my partner in crime, Tammy. Tammy and I work with the booster club of the studio where our children dance. We have had meetings, texts, more meetings – sometimes not always about the booster club. She sells Eye Kandy, which is glittery make-up. Several of the girls at the studio wear it for solos or small groups. She also does costume design, general alterations, prom dress alterations. She is a Jill-of-all-trades. We have become friends over the past couple of years and discovered we work very well together. Earlier this year, she decided she was going to sell the Eye Kandy and wanted a name for her business. I didn’t come up with the name, but shortly thereafter, Sew Glittery was born. She was in her first bridal show this year already. All this and teaches at the dance studio, is president of the booster club, has a daughter, arranges fundraisers. She is an amazing woman.  Her Facebook page is www.facebook.com/sewglittery. Stop by and see all the fun things that she can do with this makeup. Oooo…I need to put up a picture of the shoes she did for my son for his hip hop number this year.  I believe she also came up with the name for the Flip-Furs.

Tammy and I will be at Rivertown Days in Hastings in July selling our wares.

I would also like to talk about the three women in my life who have been so supportive. My two best friends, Pam and Crystal, and my Mom. Mom has been incredible. When I first came up with the idea for Flip-Furs, before I even started making them, she encouraged me to go for it. “It is a unique item and people will love it” she said. Maybe not those exact words, but pretty close. Pam’s daughters were the first ones to receive Flip-Furs. They wear them around the studio and are marketing them for me to their friends. Pam and Crystal have been inspirational. They keep telling me I’m a good cook (we all know the truth) and they don’t mind when I “work” when we get together for girls night. They are the very best of friends.

Tanya is an old friend who recently came back into my life. She took the new pictures of some of my Flip-Furs, and her only request for payment – Flip-Furs. She is an amazing woman and very talented in her craft.

Monday is Memorial Day. I’ve had family fight in wars. Both my brothers were stationed overseas during the Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts. I truly thank them for their service, and the service of all the men and women in uniform. We have a volunteer Army, which makes their sacrifice more meaningful. I may not agree with direction our country has taken, but I fully support the men and women in uniform.

So, thank a soldier. Pay for a cup of coffee (you don’t know how much it means to them). Thank a veteran. Place your hand over your heart as you look at the flag at a ball game and thank whoever you pray to for these brave soldiers.

I hope everyone has a safe and wonderful holiday weekend. I will be crocheting.

And hoping for sales.

One thought on “Pay It Forward and Friend Friday

Leave a Reply

